About Phi Theta Kappa

The Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society has recognized academic excellence in the two-year college since 1918. More than 1.2 million members have been inducted at 1200 colleges in the United States, Canada, and U.S. territories and military installations abroad. Some famous alumni include Jeanne Kirkpatrick, former UN Ambassador; H Ross Perot, entrepreneur and Presidential candidate; Jim Lehrer, host of PBS News Hour; Fred Haise, Apollo-13 astronaut; H Ben Kinchlow, host of 700 Club; and Sela Ward, Emmy Award winning actress.

Benefits of membership include: a golden pin, certificate, KVCC transcript notation, the right to wear the golden stole and tassel at graduation, seal on diploma, subscription to Society publications, and eligibility for scholarships, including transfer scholarships to Michigan universities.

Requirements for membership: Enrollment in a program at KVCC leading to an Associate’s Degree, completion of at least 12 credit hours that count toward the degree, a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, and full rights of citizenship from the student’s country. Each semester the chapter advisers mail invitations to eligible students giving information about meetings, payment, and induction. If students think they qualify but do not receive invitations, they should check with the Advisers Cristina Miller, Cynthia Schauer, or Steve Walman.

International Phi Theta Kappa Website

Michigan Regional Phi Theta Kappa Website


Comments are closed.